top of page

Flashback Friday to Career Mentorship

Today, I would like to participate in Flashback Friday (to use modern terminology). I am going all the way back to high school. Specifically, a course I took called Career Mentorship.

I took two semesters of Career Mentorship and absolutely loved the program. I cannot say enough good things about it. Mentorship is actually the reason that I blog. Creating a website and blogging once a week was an assignment in Career Mentorship 2. After the course ended, I decided to keep the website updated because it was an excellent professional tool. This is only the surface of how I benefited from my involvement in this program.

Career Mentorship was the course that began the development of my career. It completely changed my mindset. It helped me to develop things like my resume, communication skills in the work environment, my website, goals and more.

Before I dive into the details, I should probably share about myself. I am an accounting major and graduate from Bradley in 2014. I took two semesters of the course and therefore had two mentorship sites. One mentorship site was a CPA firm in Hilliard and the other was a private company in Upper Arlington.

In high school, many students think they are too young to start making connections or building their personal brand. I completely understand how such an enormous task as beginning your career may seem overwhelming. Career Mentorship showed me how to do this even at the age of 16. I was able to start developing these crucial skills in comfortable surroundings, the classroom. After building these skills, I was then able to put them to use in a professional environment.

After some time in the classroom focusing on preparation for the workplace, I was sent into an office setting. Both of my mentorship sites taught me a great deal about operating in an office, including navigating new information systems and communicating in a professional environment. I am still in touch with both of my mentors. Being put in a professional environment was a boost to my confidence because it allowed me to push myself and go out of my comfort zone. Because I had interacted with professionals before, I felt comfortable going to career fairs and networking panels during my first few weeks of college.

I gained so much from Career Mentorship. Even if a student does not know what career they want, I would recommend becoming involved in the program. It was a huge help to me and I cannot place enough value on the doors that have been opened up to me because of Career Mentorship.

Today, I would like to participate in Flashback Friday (to use modern terminology). I am going all the way back to high school. Specifically, a course I took called Career Mentorship.

I took two semesters of Career Mentorship and absolutely loved the program. I cannot say enough good things about it. Mentorship is actually the reason that I blog. Creating a website and blogging once a week was an assignment in Career Mentorship 2. After the course ended, I decided to keep the website updated because it was an excellent professional tool. This is only the surface of how I benefited from my involvement in this program.

Career Mentorship was the course that began the development of my career. It completely changed my mindset. It helped me to develop things like my resume, communication skills in the work environment, my website, goals and more.

Before I dive into the details, I should probably share about myself. I am an accounting major and graduate from Bradley in 2014. I took two semesters of the course and therefore had two mentorship sites. One mentorship site was a CPA firm in Hilliard and the other was a private company in Upper Arlington.

In high school, many students think they are too young to start making connections or building their personal brand. I completely understand how such an enormous task as beginning your career may seem overwhelming. Career Mentorship showed me how to do this even at the age of 16. I was able to start developing these crucial skills in comfortable surroundings, the classroom. After building these skills, I was then able to put them to use in a professional environment.

After some time in the classroom focusing on preparation for the workplace, I was sent into an office setting. Both of my mentorship sites taught me a great deal about operating in an office, including navigating new information systems and communicating in a professional environment. I am still in touch with both of my mentors. Being put in a professional environment was a boost to my confidence because it allowed me to push myself and go out of my comfort zone. Because I had interacted with professionals before, I felt comfortable going to career fairs and networking panels during my first few weeks of college.

I gained so much from Career Mentorship. Even if a student does not know what career they want, I would recommend becoming involved in the program. It was a huge help to me and I cannot place enough value on the doors that have been opened up to me because of Career Mentorship.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

 


 
bottom of page